Season concert

Moments Of Destiny


31.03. 19.00

Madetoja Hall


Rumon Gamba


Chloë Hanslip violin

Concert program

Benjamin Britten: Russian Funeral (1936)
Benjamin Britten: Violin Concerto Op. 15 (1939, rev. 1950/65) 

Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36  

Download brochure

The most notable British composer of the past century, Benjamin Britten was a passionate pacifist. He spread the idea of unarmed resistance by distributing leaflets and by composing works that portray the battle between war and peace. Completed in 1936, Russian Funeral pays tribute to the victims of the Russian Revolution, while the Violin Concerto he composed three years later honours those who fell during the Spanish Civil War. The interpretation given to Britten’s violin concerto by tonight’s soloist Chloë Hanslip has been praised as exemplary. 

With his Fourth SymphonyPyotr Tchaikovsky started exploring new ground. Conventional forms and themes strictly dictated by music gave way to a portrayal of the painful moments of the composer’s personal life and an emotional charge that resonates truly with the audience. Is it wise to defy one’s fate? Can genuine happiness ever be reached? Packed with great orchestral power, this work has aptly been called Tchaikovsky’s Fate Symphony 


Duration about 2 h including intermission

Tickets 29/24/14 €
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee: Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.


Head start in Restaurant Preludi at 18.30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Interview with the artist: Surrender to what the music is giving you

Listen in advance