Season concert

Finland, Fatherland


07.12. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Anna-Maria Helsing


Niko Kumpuvaara accordion
Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Leevi Madetoja Kullervo, Op. 15
Kirmo Lintinen Harmonikkakonsertto (premiere for larger orchesta)

Helvi Leiviskä Symphony No. 2, Op. 27
Jean Sibelius Finlandia, Op. 26

Formerly Chief Conductor of Oulu Sinfonia, current Principal Guest Conductor of the BBC Concert Orchestra Anna-Maria Helsing returns to perform a bevy of Finnish classics and more recent acquaintances in the spirit of the Finnish Independence Day.

Leevi Madetoja’s only Kalevala-themed work is also his most daring and romantic, a heroic story in the spirit of Tchaikovsky. Kirmo Lintinen is perhaps best known for his jazz compositions. His concerto dedicated to Niko Kumpuvaara presents the full potential of the accordion – the work originally premiered in 2015, but a newly rearranged version for a large orchestra now makes its debut. Helvi Leiviskä attracted attention as the first Finnish woman to compose symphonies. Her Second Symphony from 1954 is a journey of powerful twists and turns, building toward a mysterious conclusion. The concert culminates with Jean Sibelius’s Finlandia.


Duration about 2 h (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.