Season concert

Cathedral of Sound


06.04. 18.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Leo McFall


Oulu Symphony Orchestra

Concert program

Richard Wagner: Good Friday Music (Karfreitagzauber) from the opera Parsifal
Anton Bruckner:
Symphony No. 6 in A Major, WAB 106

Download brochure

Composers throughout the ages have attempted to put into words the emotions that Richard Wagner’s Parsifal, the pinnacle of his life’s work, stirred in them. For Claude Debussy, it was the most beautiful of all monuments of sound in history; Gustav Mahler experienced the most profound revelation of his life as a result of Parsifal; Jean Sibelius reflected that nothing else in the world had made such an impression on him.

Anton Bruckner expressed his sentiments through composing Wagnerian symphonies, which due to their spirituality have been called cathedrals of sound. The sixth symphony also reaches beyond religion: the secular melodies, adventurous keys and divine scenes abundant in the work have earned it the moniker Philosophical. Conductor Leo McFall returns as a guest of the Oulu Symphony Orchestra for Easter festivities.


Duration about 1 h 20 min (no intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 17:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Interview with the artist: Bruckner's favourite symphony is good for Easter and every day

Listen in advance