Season concert

Winner of the Jean Sibelius Violin Competition


04.05. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Rumon Gamba


Inmo Yang violin
Oulu Symphony Orchestra

Concert program

Ludvig van Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61

Felix Mendessohn Bartholdy: Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Op. 90, “Italian”

Inmo Yang has captivated the world with his mature interpretations for many years already. He bewitched Finnish listeners by winning the 2022 International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition in a way which left no room for doubt. In his Oulu debut, the young virtuoso will interpret Ludwig van Beethoven’s concerto, which rightfully has earned its reputation as the Mount Everest of violin concertos.

The blazing sun, ornate ancient cities and the festivities of the countryside left a lasting impression on Felix Mendelssohn after he returned from his trip to Italy in 1833. The swiftly completed symphony went on to become perhaps the composer’s most beloved piece, a colourful ode to nature and an unrestrained lifestyle.


Duration about 1 h 45 min (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Interview with the artist: Concerto that is a pinnacle to the violin repertoire

Listen in advance