Season concert

Welcome, Rumon!


13.01. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Watch concert

Rumon Gamba


Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Edward Elgar Cockaigne Overture, Op. 40, ”In London Town”
Ralph Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 2, “London”

Download brochure

Due to a ban on all public events, Oulu Symphony Orchestra’s season will start with a streamed concert. Welcome, Rumon! -concert will be played live in Oulu Symphony’s YouTube channel on Thursday 13th January at 7 PM. The concert can be watched for 30 days.


Download brochure!

Year 1901 in London: The Victorian era ends, the world’s first cinema is inaugurated, the vacuum cleaner is patented – and Edward Elgar composes the Cockaigne Overture. The British composer’s music gleams with life, portraying a utopian idyll of a metropolis with its residents and well-maintained public parks and gardens. Whereas Elgar’s London resounds with the singing of street urchins, the Symphony of Ralph Vaughan Williams echoes with the cries of stallholders and the chiming of Big Ben.

In this concert Rumon Gamba, who now begins his term as Chief Conductor of the Oulu Symphony Orchestra, presents to the audience the bustle of his home city.


Duration about 1 h 15 min, no intermission.

Listen in advance