Season concert

Up to the Heights!


28.09. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Joana Carneiro


Luka Faulisi violin
Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Wilhelm Stenhammar Excelsior!, Op. 13
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 56 “Scottish”

The beauty of German composer Felix Mendelssohn’s early Romantic melodies is unsurpassed, and the Violin Concerto, written in 1845, is perhaps the most moving of them, while the Symphony, which originated in Edinburgh, is reminiscent of majestic castles and the lush undulations of endless moors.

“Swedish Sibelius” Wilhelm Stenhammar’s exuberant portrayal of his youth. Excelsior!, is finally making a return to the orchestral repertoire. Acclaimed for his “million-dollar sound”, superstar Luka Faulisi and Joana Carneiro, artistic director of the renowned Gulbenkian Orchestra, make their Oulu debut.


Duration about 2 h 5 min (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.