Season concert

SOLD OUT: The First and the Last


03.11. 19.00

Madetoja Hall


Osmo Vänskä


Paavali Jumppanen piano
Oulu Symphony Orchestra

Concert program

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58
Jaakko Kuusisto: Symphony, Op. 39

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 4 in A minor, Op. 63

Download brochure

There are composers, and then there are symphonists – composers who dare to take on the main event of orchestral music. Jean Sibelius sought the essence of the symphony for nearly thirty years, and his Fourth Symphony is probably his most dark and dramatic work. The master, revived from the brink of death, distilled his emotions into a mystery coloured by the harmonies of fear and despair.

Jaakko Kuusisto, violinist, conductor, composer, and cultural figure, left a legacy of music where artistic ambition and audience-friendly melodies meet as equal partners. Kuusisto’s final work is his Symphony, left incomplete at his death, but now completed by his brother Pekka.

Osmo Vänskä, one of Finland’s most internationally renowned conductors, returns to visit Oulu Sinfonia after five years.


Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 14 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Interview with the artist: An Expert in Beethoven's and Kuusisto's Music

Listen in advance