Season concert

Tabula Rasa


14.04. 19.00

Madetoja Hall


Risto Joost


Harry Traksmann violin
Robert Traksmann violin

Concert program

Arvo Pärt Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten
Arvo Pärt Tabula Rasa

Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Download brochure

Arvo Pärt is one of the most popular contemporary composers. His music creates an interesting effect: while listening to compositions by Pärt, one forgets everything one thought to know about contemporary music. The tunes seem to come out of nowhere, and never come to an end – even the rests composed by Pärt have their own, mystical tone. Risto Joost, a conductor well-known to the audience, brings to Oulu two most iconic pieces by his fellow-countryman, composed in 1977. Tabula Rasa describes spiritual awakening. Cantus, on the other hand, was composed in memory of Benjamin Britten.

The concert will end with a remarkable symphony that was composed hundred years ago. It took over two decades for Johannes Brahms to finish his first symphony. The symphony got a nickname Beethoven’s 10th already in the premiere.


Duration about 2 h including intermission

Tickets 29/24/14 €
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee: Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start in Restaurant Preludi at 18.30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Interview with the artist: Oulu Symphony plays contemporary music accurately (in Finnish only)