Season concert

Portrait of a Dictator


09.11. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Rumon Gamba


Marianna Shirinyan piano
Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Sergei Prokofjev Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major, Op. 26

Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93

Only eight months after the death of the tyrant ruler Joseph Stalin, Dmitri Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony premiered in Leningrad. The brutal second movement of the symphony, which recalls the dictatorship, paints as realistic a picture of the decades of hatred and their main architects as the censorship of the time would allow.

The Third Piano Concerto by Sergei Prokofiev, who fled the Russian Revolution, was the composer’s breakthrough work in the United States. Marianna Shirinyan, who captivated the people of Oulu in 2021, interprets a concerto of sleek neoclassicism, dreamscapes, mocking sarcasm and the highest peaks of piano artistry.


Duration about 2 h (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.