Season concert

Over the Boundaries


16.02. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Rumon Gamba


Antti Tikkanen violin
Oulu Symphony Orchestra

Concert program

Claude Debussy: Printemps
Marzi Nyman: Violin Concerto

Igor Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements

Download brochure

Marzi Nyman, who has many times crossed stylistic boundaries, has once again conquered a new field. The Violin Concerto, which features romantic outbursts, neo-classical mischief, and cinematic sensuality, was greeted with praise and applause in Espoo during the autumn. Nyman has enlarged the work to be played by a large symphony orchestra for the Oulu Symphony Orchestra.

The imagery of the Second World War shocked even the emotionally reserved Igor Stravinsky. After the end of the war, he modified his shelved film music into a program symphony, which leads the listener from a parade of marching German soldiers to the Japanese trenches, and finally to the victory celebration of the Allies.


Duration about 1 h 45 min (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Listen in advance