Season concert

Oulu Music Centre 40 years: Okon Fuoko


07.09. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Rumon Gamba


Saara Rauvala soprano
Tuomas Miettola
Oulu Chamber Choir
Kristian Heberg choir master
Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Leevi Madetoja Okon Fuoko, Op. 5

The ballet pantomime Okon Fuoko takes place in ancient Japan. It tells the story of a puppet master who falls in love with his creation, with fateful consequences. This major work by the National Romantic composer Leevi Madetoja is neither nationalistic nor romantic, but an adventure that makes use of both neo-classicist touches and oriental spices. The work, completed in 1927, is viewed as the last masterpiece of this Oulu composer, and its music is an indication of his ability to reflect the musical fashions of the day in his own, distinctive melodic expression.

Finnish vocalists and Chief Conductor Rumon Gamba bring this true rarity to Oulu at its full potential.


Duration about 1 h 30 min (no intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert..

Saara Rauvala. Tuomas Miettola.