Season concert



31.08. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

John Storgårds


Kari Kriikku clarinet
Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Arvo Pärt Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten
Jukka Tiensuu Missa, For Clarinet And Orchestra

Sergei Prokofjev Overture on Hebrew Themes, Op. 34a
Dmitry Shostakovich Symphony No. 1 in F minor op. 10

John Storgårds, recently appointed as Chief Conductor of the BBC Philharmonic, will celebrate his 60th birthday with a programme that has it all. Arvo Pärt’s most famous and most melancholic piece is culminated in tears of the string orchestra and the tumble of the bells, whereas Sergei Prokofjev’s rarity makes us dance to the themes in the spirit of Hebrew klezmer.

In 2007, Jukka Tiensuu’s Missa premiered under Storgårds. The name promises a Catholic Mass, but the reality of the music is also a magical celebration of the clarinet — exactly what we have come to expect from Kari Kriikku.

Dmitry Shostakovich, aged only nineteen, wrote a Janus-faced symphony as his graduation work. Can a joy like this last after all?


Duration about 1 h 55 min (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.