Season concert

Legends on Stage


14.09. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Arvo Volmer


Arto Alikoski cello
Markku Korhonen clarinet
Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Max Bruch Kol Nidrei, Op. 47
Carl Maria von Weber Concertino in Eb Major, Op. 26

Eduard Tubin Symphony No. 10

Max Bruch’s most famous work, Kol Nidrei, is based on a Jewish prayer, and its eerie, mystical melodies are among the most beautiful in cello literature. Concertino by Carl Maria von Weber, the father of German Romanticism, explores a whole opera’s worth of emotion and all the extremes of the clarinet in an entertaining package.

Oulu Sinfonia’s long-time principal conductor Arvo Volmer will crown his long-awaited homecoming concert with a bravura work, the final completed symphony by Eduard Tubin. The heart and soul of the orchestra, solo cellist Arto Alikoski and principal clarinet Markku Korhonen, who have both been colouring the sound of the orchestra for decades, will shine as soloists.


Duration about 1 h 35 min (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.