Season concert

Fresh Spring Water


29.09. 19.00

Madetoja Hall


Lio Kuokman


Mika Rännäli piano
Oulu Symphony Orchestra

Concert program

Claude Debussy: Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
Maurice Ravel: Piano Concerto in G Major

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 6, Op. 104

Download brochure

The First World War initiated a revolution also in music that could immediately be heard across the world. Maurice Ravel embraced jazz, brought to Europe by
American soldiers, and composed his Piano Concerto in G Major which combines swing music and classical into a delicious smorgasbord.

The modernism that arose from the ashes of war reinforced Sibelius’s view of the completeness of his own style. “Whereas other composers come up with recipes for all manner of colourful cocktails, I am the one that serves the audience a hearty drink of fresh spring water.” As such, his Sixth Symphony has been called Sibelius’s most Finnish work.


Duration about 1 h 40 min (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 14 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Interview with the artis: Ravel's Piano Concerto is musical New York

Listen in advance