Season concert



24.02. 19.00

Madetoja Hall


Peter Whelan


Maija Wesslund violin
Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Johann David Heinichen: Concerto Grosso In F Major, Seibel 234
Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto ”per l’Orchestra di Dresda” G minor, RV 577
Evaristo Felice dall’Abaco: Concerto grosso à più istrumenti, D Major, Op. 5 No. 6
Georg Friedrich Handel: Music for Royal Fireworks, HWV 351

Download brochure

Old-time virtuosity combined with fireworks rockets glowing in the sky! The Oulu Symphony Orchestra’s concert of ancient music takes you back to the eighteenth century: to the Dresden court, Amsterdam and regal London.  Under the direction of the Artistic Director of the Irish Baroque Orchestra, Peter Whelan, we will hear concertos by the most outstanding musicians of their time, which challenge the orchestra to show the full range of its skills. The concert will end with Music for the Royal Fireworks by George Frideric Handel. At its premiere in London there was such a big rush to the Green Park that the traffic jam is still remembered over 250 years later. 


NOTE! The concert venue has changed. The concert will be played at Madetoja Hall instead of Oulu Cathedral.

Duration about 1 h 10 min (no intermission)

Tickets 29/24/14 €
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 1 €/order will be added (excluding Kaikukortti tickets).


Thank you for co-operation:

OAMK logo

Oulun Vanha Musiikki

Interview with the artist: Barogue music speaks to the modern people