Season concert

Divine Mosaics


15.09. 19.00

Madetoja Hall


Rumon Gamba


Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Carl Nielsen: Symphony No. 5, Op. 50

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 5 in Eb Major, Op. 82

Download brochure

Oulu Sinfonia opens its autumn season series with two classics of the Northern symphonic repertoire. The Fifth Symphony by Denmark’s national composer Carl Nielsen was born through painful effort. It has been described as a work of Cubist music, a mural made up of an array of coloured pieces. Only three years earlier, Jean Sibelius completed the third and final version of his Fifth Symphony. It has established itself as perhaps Sibelius’s most beloved work: “It is as if God the Father cast down fragments of a mosaic that once adorned the floors of Heaven, asking me to find out what the pattern once was like.”


Duration about 1 h 40 min (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € adult / 24 € pensioner / 14 € student, unemployed, chilt (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Interview with the artist: How does Gamba interpret Sibelius?

Listen in advance