Chamber concert

A Czech night


21.01. 17.00

Tulindberg Hall


Oulu Symphony Orchestra’s Chamber Musicians
Mikko Sorri violin
Anita Virkkala violin
Johanna Tuikka viola
Greta Ernesaks cello
Antoine Greuzard double bass
Markku Korhonen clarinet
Paula Nurila oboe
Lorenzo Leone bassoon
Inka Pärssinen trumpet
Sanna Smolander piano

Concert program

Bohuslav Martinů: Cello and piano sonata no. 1 H.277

Bohuslav Martinů: Les rondes, H. 200 for oboe, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, 2 violins and piano

Antonín Dvořák: String Quintet No.2 in G Major, Op.77

Download brochure

The first new year’s chamber concert opens with a program dedicated to two among the most important composers from Bohemia: Antonín Dvořák and Bohuslav Martinů. The two composers, born in 1841 and 1890 respectively, shared a strong attachment to the music of their homeland and, though with different backgrounds, a significant American experience.

They stand as key figures at the beginning and at the end of the Czech symphonic tradition and they both devoted themselves to the composition of the chamber repertoire developing a language resulting from the folk heritage and the American music encountered in their lives.


Duration about 1 h 30 min (incl. intermission)

Free admission.