Season concert

Brahms’ Final Works


02.11. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Stefan Geiger


Otto Antikainen violin
Senja Rummukainen cello
Oulu Sinfonia

Concert program

Johannes Brahms Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 10

Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98

The long friendship between Johannes Brahms and violinist Joseph Joachim had ended up in a bitter argument. As a gesture of reconciliation, Brahms wrote his last orchestral work, a double concerto about friendship, for two entirely equal soloists. Otto Antikainen and Senja Rummukainen, Finnish virtuosi of a new generation, star at the centre of this unique combination of instruments.

Brahms brought his series of celebrated symphonies to a climax with a deep excavation of the bedrock of German orchestral music. The Fourth Symphony, drawing in equal measure from Bach and Beethoven, leads its audience through twilight landscapes into the very heart of darkness.


Duration about 1 h 55 min (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.