Tours and festivals

Beethoven 9


16.12. 18.00

Rovaniemi Church (Rovaniemi)


John Storgårds


Anna-Kristiina Kaappola soprano
Virpi Räisänen mezzosoprano
Christian Juslin tenor
Markus Suihkonen bass
Helsinki Chamber Choir
George Parris 
choir master
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Oulu Symphony Orchestra

Concert program

Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125

Ludwig van Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony has long since crossed every border of music and art, becoming a cultural touchstone far larger than itself. This massive work,
culminating in a hymn to friendship and equality, has been performed at the Berlin Wall, the Tiananmen Square, as well as the trenches surrounding camps where political prisoners are held. Now, a major project long into making by Lapland Chamber Orchestra, Oulu Sinfonia, and the Helsinki Chamber Choir is at long last coming to fruition, conducted by John Storgårds both in Madetoja Hall in Oulu as well as in Rovaniemi Church.

Duration about 1 h 15 min, no intermission

Tickets 35 € normal / 29 € pensioner / 19 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Anna-Kristiina Kaappola Virpi Räisänen Christian Juslin Markus Suihkonen

Listen in advance