Season concert

Amore, Amore


20.04. 19.00

Madetoja Hall

Buy tickets Order serving

Rumon Gamba


Matilda Lloyd trumpet
Oulu Symphony Orchestra

Concert program

Giuseppe Verdi: Overture to La forza del destino
Vincezo Bellini: Oh!…mie fedeli from the opera Beatrice di Tenda, for Solo Trumpet and Orchestra
Gaetano Donizetti: Una Furtiva Lagrima from the opera L’elisir d’amore, for Solo Trumpet and Orchestra
Gioachino Rossini: Ah, quel giorno ognor rammento from the opera Semiramade, for Solo Trumpet and Orchestra

Ottorino Resphigi: Gli Uccelli (The Birds)
Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring

Download brochure

“Italy, and the spring and first love all together should suffice to make the gloomiest person happy”, said the philosopher Bertrand Russell, although he had never heard of a concert by the Oulu Symphony Orchestra. The ABC’s of happiness are realised under the baton of Chief Conductor Rumon Gamba as the orchestra dives into the most amorous arias of Italian opera, arranged for the trumpet.

The concert will be concluded by Aaron Copland’s early success Appalachian Spring. The 1942 ballet, which depicts the everyday life of the American settlers, made Copland the leading figure of composition in the USA and formed the stylistic basis for American music even up to the present. Trumpeter Matilda Lloyd, who has had a blazing career trajectory across European concert halls in recent years, will be the guest soloist.


Duration about 2 h (incl. intermission)

Tickets 29 € normal/ 24 € pensioner / 16 € student, unemployed, child (3–17 yrs)
Free entry to the concert for Kaikukortti holders (limited amount, must be purchased in advance from Oulu10 service point).

Prices include service fee. Order fee 2 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster shops or 1,50 €/order when bought from Ticketmaster online shop will be added, excluding tickets purchased at Madetoja Hall ticket booth and Kaikukortti-tickets.

Head start at Restaurant Preludi at 18:30. Discussion of the forthcoming concert.

Interview with the artist: Beautifull opera arias interpreted by a trumpet

Listen in advance