Tours and festivals

A Mind-blowing Adventure


01.09. 19.00

Kulturens hus (Luleå, Sweden)


Rumon Gamba


Elina Vähälä violin
Oulu Symphony Orchestra

Concert program

William Walton: Suite from Henry V
Jaakko Kuusisto: Violin Concerto, Op. 28

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 5 in Eb Major, Op. 82

Under its Chief Conductor, the Oulu Symphony Orchestra brings the Nordics exactly the music Oulu’s orchestra is known for. The opening number comes from William Walton’s score to the 1944 period drama Henry V, the concluding feature is Jean Sibelius’s most recognizable symphony complete with its grandiloquent horn passages.

Elina Vähälä, one of Finland’s most internationally renowned violinists, presents the Violin Concerto by Jaakko Kuusisto, characterised by The Who frontman Pete Townshend as “a mind-blowing adventure, crazy at times, but incredibly charming”.


Duration about 1 h 50 min (incl. intermission)