Chamber concert

A Chamber Dream


04.11. 18.00

Oulu University, Saalastinsali


Paavali Jumppanen piano
Oulu Symphony Orchestra’s Chamber Musicians:
Maija Wesslund violin
Dhyani Gylling violin
Susanna Nietula viola
Greta Ernesaks cello

Concert program

Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25

Antonín Dvořák: Piano Quintet No. 2 in A Major, Op. 81

Download brochure

Johannes Brahms and Antonín Dvořák among the greatest composers of the nineteenth century, capable of integrating the lesson of their great predecessors and adapting it to their time by innovating it.

In the years of his maturity, Dvořák’s musical language begins to show the influence of Brahms’ classicism – considered at the time the representative of the “conservative” line-up as opposed to Wagner the “progressive” – ​​and to favour the presence of rhythms and melodies inspired by Czech popular music, never copied or revisited but always freshly created from scratch.

A relationship of mutual esteem and friendship was established between the two composers and it is thanks to Brahms that Dvořák’s music began to become popular, circulating more easily in Europe.

Oulu Symphony Orchestra’s Chamber Musicians, together with the extraordinary Paavali Jumppanen, will perform two of their masterpieces in two unmissable events.

We are very happy to meet for the first time the students and staff of the University of Oulu and the Oulu University of Applied Sciences right at the heart of the Linnanmaa campus, the Saalastinsali, on November 4th at 6.00 PM and to meet old and new friends in our usual chamber music wonderful meeting hall, the Tulindberg Hall in the Oulu Music Center, on November 5th at 3.00 PM.

Come and experience with us all emotions and colours in the palette of chamber music!


Duration about 1 h 40 min including intermission.

Free admission.

In co-operation with: Oulu Symphony Orchestra, Oulun University, Oulu University of Applied Sciences and Orkesterin Pulssi ry.